plumber?

Okay, now we add plumbing my so called abilities.  Our toilet (in my bathroom) was leaking so I told my husband that we should fix it before it gets really bad.  He took off the old toilet and the old wax ring and then we went out to buy a new one that was low flush.  Yes, I made him do the dirty job.  We went to Home Depot and looked at ALL the toilets which were about 30 of them.  Small, big, low flush, flush ratings, one piece, two piece, complete set, toilets only, white, cream color, round bowl, oblong bowl.  Did you know it was so involved in buying a toilet?  Well, my good ol’ hubby brought the dimensions and that was good.  Just took it for granted that another one would fit.  We finally bought a complete set, one with a high (10) flush rating, and low flush. 
We brought it home all gung ho and but on the new toilet.  While tightening it down I heard a crack and thought it was the new toilet.  We took it off and found out that the flange, which was old cast iron cracked. 
This is what the broken part looked like,           This is what the whole thing looked like, gross huh?
 
Now we had no way of securing the toilet down to the floor.  Through numerous emails and numerous visits to Lowes, Home Depot, City Mill, we finally got the part and through lots of adjustments finally got the toilet secured to the ground.  Boy, now I know why they make so much money.  Then my wonderful hubby caulked the bottom. 
When we looked at it, it almost looked like one in the childrens bathroom.  The tank was so much smaller.  But with a rating of 10, it flushed beautifully.  I even put in a shelf in the back since there was more room.  What do you think?
                    My new Toilet, looks professional huh?                                                                          Check the new shelf out.
