One step forward, two steps back

So I’m still at kitchen renovations, looking at the plan of kitchen cabinets and measuring and figuring and measuring.  R is plodding away at putting together cabinets.  Today he’s a little sore from sitting on the floor and putting them together but a trooper as he is (he’s reading about the 442nd in WW2) he sits down and does some more.

I look at my plan and think about the counter top stove and the 36 inch base cabinet that will be in it.  Then I think about the wall microwave and it being 30 inches and the cabinet above being 30 inches.  So I decide to get another base cabinet that is 30 inches since the stove top is only 29 inches, it should fit, and everything will look all nice and even.  (If you know how to do stuff like that, don’t laugh!) 

So R and I go to Home Depot, get the sink, 2 more cabinets, and think about getting some lumber too.  Nah cannot fit anyway.  Next trip we go get the lumber   On our way home, it rains a little, we get home in the garage and it starts pouring cats and dogs.  Thank you God!

So, R starts putting together the new cabinets. 

finished cabinets

All cabinets a put together waiting to be installed.

I, on the other hand, am tired from thinking and take a nap ( isn’t that what bosses do?).   After nap, R says he’s done and don’t know where to put stuff.  It dawns on me to try fit the stove top into the cabinet, just to see how it looks.   It doesn’t fit.  It’s just a 1/2 inch too small.  My hopes are dashed and my mind is racing.  Dear ol hubby says, that’s okay we have enough cabinets, we can use this someplace else right?  I did have enough and that was an extra one thinking the 36 was too big.  Back to the original plan. 

I’m exhausted and it’s time to make dinner.  Tomorrow we break down old cabinets and make walls.  Sounds like fun huh?

